Common name: Farfalla

Scientific name: Lepidoptera 

Class: Insecta

Order: Lepidoptera

Nutrition Nectar, the liquid, sugary part inside the flowers.


It has wings entirely covered in tiny scales. It has well-developed eyesight as it has compound eyes, like those of other insects, made up of hundreds of tiny lenses. Its life cycle comprises four stages of metamorphosis: egg, caterpillar, chrysalis, butterfly. The egg, laid by a female on the nurse plant, develops into a larva, the caterpillar. The latter feeds on the leaves of the nurse plant and increases in size to create a chrysalis. When climatic conditions and temperature allow it, the chrysalis lining begins to break down and a butterfly emerges, ready to restart its life cycle.


Curiosità: There are currently 17,500 species of butterflies on the planet, 200 of which are located in Italy.

Rete muse ale della Valdera

Valdera Musei

Rete museale della Valdera

Regione Toscana


Comune di Capannoli

Municipalilty of

Terre di Pisa

Terre di Pisa

Copyright 2017 by Comune di Capannoli
All rights reserved
Powered by ArtEventBook